Chakra 3 The Solar Plexus Chakra



1. What are Chakras
2. What is the Solar Plexus Chakra
3. Balancing the Solar Plexus Chakra
5. Free Download 7 Chakras Summary



The energy of life flows through our chakras. A chakra is simply defined as an energy center in our body

Chakras act as a balancing system to maintain the physical, mental, and spiritual functions of a person. Chakras are an integral aspect of the intersection between mind and body functions.

Chakras are divided into 7 main areas that are located along the central aspect of the body. These run from the base of the spine up to the top of the head.

The chakras are listed below:

  • Chakra 1 The Root Chakra – refers to survival and overall life
  • Chakra 2 The Sacral Chakra – refers to emotion and sexuality
  • Chakra 3 The Solar Plexus Chakra – refers to self-esteem, self-worth, and personal will
  • Chakra 4 The Heart Chakra – refers to love
  • Chakra 5 The Throat Chakra – refers to communication
  • Chakra 6 The Third Eye Chakra – refers to creativity, intuition, and imagination
  • Chakra 7 The Crown Chakra – refers to knowledge, understanding, and consciousness

Chakras are constantly vibrating as they absorb and transmit energy throughout our bodies. When a chakra is blocked, it creates a disruption to energy flow and will impact us in our daily lives, specifically in the area of the blocked chakra. Consequently, as one chakra is blocked, it will affect the flow of energy through the other chakras.

Many experiences and events can block chakras. These experiences include childhood trauma, physical injury, emotional distress, high stress, chronic illness, unhealthy habits, and limited thinking.

As we experience negative events in our life, we undertake coping mechanisms to help us cope physically, mentally, and spiritually. These coping mechanisms can develop bad habits and thinking patterns that ultimately impact the flow of energy through our chakras.

Balancing our chakras is an important part of our healing and recovering process, along with developing an understanding of the source of our experiences and the maladaptive coping mechanisms that we develop in order to protect ourselves.


The solar plexus chakra covers the area from the navel to the breastbone. The solar plexus chakra is identified by the color yellow and connected to the element of fire.

The solar plexus chakra covers the physical areas of the pancreas, adrenal glands, digestive system, and upper abdomen.

When the solar plexus chakra is in balance, you feel confident, and motivated with a purpose. However, when the solar plexus chakra is out of balance you may feel anger, uncertainty, low self-esteem, and a lack of direction and purpose.

Inbalance may also manifest in the physical sense through fatigue, weight fluctuation, digestive issues, ulcers, and general metabolism.

As we move through the chakras, our overall position in life is gaining energy and momentum. In the first chakra, we built a foundation on which our being could stand. In the second chakra, we established a sense of security and safety around our existence. In this third chakra, we now have the power and confidence to build upon that foundation and security to continue our flow through life.


A number of activities can help restore our chakras. Engaging in positive life activities is beneficial to encourage positive energy flow throughout our body. This is relevant for the physical, mental, and spiritual aspects of our lives.

Some positive activities that we can engage in to promote positive energy flow are listed below:

  • Reiki
  • Yoga
  • Meditation
  • Visualization
  • Color therapy
  • Conscious breathing
  • Gentle physical exercises such as stretching
  • Positive thinking
  • Affirmations
  • Aromatherapy
  • Art therapy/art journaling
  • Formal therapy for mental wellbeing

​As the element of fire is connected to the solar plexus chakra, you can engage in activities that generate body warmth at a comfortable level. This might include getting outside in nature to take advantage of sunny days with safe exposure to the sun. You may also benefit from the skin cleansing activity of a sauna to cleanse the body of impurities.

Balancing the solar plexus chakra emotional aspects can be achieved through positive activities for boosting self-esteem such as positive affirmations and engaging in activities that help develop a sense of personal mastery. This might include activities that you enjoy such as cooking, art, sport, reading, and more.

Balancing the third chakra gives you the confidence to a positive flow of energy to the following chakras.

In addition to the above activities to rebalance the solar plexus chakra, conducting Reiki over the solar plexus chakra area can also clear any blockage and help restore a positive energy flow.

Reiki techniques involve holding your hands for at least 5 minutes over your solar plexus area. Hand positions can also extend to moving around the upper stomach area in general.


SIGN UP below to receive your FREE DOWNLOAD. Once you enter your email address, you will receive access to the Free Resource Library.
Reiki 7 Chakras Summary Guide


Pin this image to your Pinterest board.

Chakra 3 The Solar Plexus Chakra


If you’ve enjoyed this post, please share it on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest. Thank you!

Don`t copy text!
Share This