Chakra 2 The Sacral Chakra



1. What are Chakras
2. What is the Sacral Chakra
3. Balancing the Sacral Chakra
5. Free Download 7 Chakras Summary



The energy of life flows through our chakras. A chakra is simply defined as an energy center in our body

Chakras act as a balancing system to maintain the physical, mental, and spiritual functions of a person. Chakras are an integral aspect of the intersection between mind and body functions.

Chakras are divided into 7 main areas that are located along the central aspect of the body. These run from the base of the spine up to the top of the head.

The chakras are listed below:

  • Chakra 1 The Root Chakra – refers to survival and overall life
  • Chakra 2 The Sacral Chakra – refers to emotion and sexuality
  • Chakra 3 The Solar Plexus Chakra – refers to self-esteem, self-worth, and personal will
  • Chakra 4 The Heart Chakra – refers to love
  • Chakra 5 The Throat Chakra – refers to communication
  • Chakra 6 The Third Eye Chakra – refers to creativity, intuition, and imagination
  • Chakra 7 The Crown Chakra – refers to knowledge, understanding, and consciousness

Chakras are constantly vibrating as they absorb and transmit energy throughout our bodies. When a chakra is blocked, it creates a disruption to energy flow and will impact us in our daily lives, specifically in the area of the blocked chakra. Consequently, as one chakra is blocked, it will affect the flow of energy through the other chakras.

Many experiences and events can block chakras. These experiences include childhood trauma, physical injury, emotional distress, high stress, chronic illness, unhealthy habits, and limited thinking.

As we experience negative events in our life, we undertake coping mechanisms to help us cope physically, mentally, and spiritually. These coping mechanisms can develop bad habits and thinking patterns that ultimately impact the flow of energy through our chakras.

Balancing our chakras is an important part of our healing and recovering process, along with developing an understanding of the source of our experiences and the maladaptive coping mechanisms that we develop in order to protect ourselves.


The sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen. As we move from the first chakra (the root), the body becomes activated to incorporate the flow of another energy center.

The sacral chakra is associated with the element of water and therefore encapsulates bodily functions such as blood circulation and urinary flow. Given the location of the sacral chakra, it also covers all reproductive and sexual functions. From these aspects, the psychological and emotional aspects of pleasure, sensation, and nurturing are activated.

Pleasure in its beneficial form allows us to relax and release tension. Pleasure can also help us to remain open to better communication and interactions with other people. Pleasure keeps us open to possibilities and therefore the idea of expanding our consciousness so that we remain open to growing as a person.

In a disruptive state, we can also seek pleasure at the cost of our integrity and most dearly held principles. We may seek pleasure through material possessions or engaging in addictive behaviors that take us away from our core journey to seek a higher purpose in life.

Pleasure can allow us to connect with our emotions and senses and we can choose to seek these connections through constructive or destructive behaviors and thoughts. When we remain connected to all of our chakras with good intentions, we will yearn to seek constructive outcomes.


A number of activities can help restore our chakras. Engaging in positive life activities is beneficial to encourage positive energy flow throughout our body. This is relevant for the physical, mental, and spiritual aspects of our lives.

Some positive activities that we can engage in to promote positive energy flow are listed below:

  • Reiki
  • Yoga
  • Meditation
  • Visualization
  • Color therapy
  • Conscious breathing
  • Gentle physical exercises such as stretching
  • Positive thinking
  • Affirmations
  • Aromatherapy
  • Art therapy/art journaling
  • Formal therapy for mental wellbeing

​As the element of water is connected to the sacral chakra, you can engage in water positive activities such as swimming, taking a bath, meditation to the sound of rain or a waterfall, and staying hydrated. You can also engage in mindfulness as you have a shower and be aware of the sensations that water has running over your skin.

Balancing the second chakra gives you the confidence to a positive flow of energy to the following chakras.

In addition to the above activities to rebalance the sacral chakra, conducting Reiki over the sacral chakra area can also clear any blockage and help restore a positive energy flow.

Reiki techniques involve holding your hands for at least 5 minutes over your abdomen. Hand positions can also extend to moving around the lower stomach area in general.


SIGN UP below to receive your FREE DOWNLOAD. Once you enter your email address, you will receive access to the Free Resource Library.
Reiki 7 Chakras Summary Guide


Pin this image to your Pinterest board.

Chakra 2 The Sacral Chakra


If you’ve enjoyed this post, please share it on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest. Thank you!

Don`t copy text!
Share This