Chakra 1 The Root Chakra



1. What are Chakras
2. What is the Root Chakra
3. Balancing the Root Chakra
5. Free Download 7 Chakras Summary


The energy of life flows through our chakras. A chakra is simply defined as an energy center in our body

Chakras act as a balancing system to maintain the physical, mental, and spiritual functions of a person. Chakras are an integral aspect of the intersection between mind and body functions.

Chakras are divided into 7 main areas that are located along the central aspect of the body. These run from the base of the spine up to the top of the head.

The chakras are listed below:

  • Chakra 1 The Root Chakra – refers to survival and overall life
  • Chakra 2 The Sacral Chakra – refers to emotion and sexuality
  • Chakra 3 The Solar Plexus Chakra – refers to self-esteem, self-worth, and personal will
  • Chakra 4 The Heart Chakra – refers to love
  • Chakra 5 The Throat Chakra – refers to communication
  • Chakra 6 The Third Eye Chakra – refers to creativity, intuition, and imagination
  • Chakra 7 The Crown Chakra – refers to knowledge, understanding, and consciousness

Chakras are constantly vibrating as they absorb and transmit energy throughout our bodies. When a chakra is blocked, it creates a disruption to energy flow and will impact us in our daily lives, specifically in the area of the blocked chakra. Consequently, as one chakra is blocked, it will affect the flow of energy through the other chakras.

Many experiences and events can block chakras. These experiences include childhood trauma, physical injury, emotional distress, high stress, chronic illness, unhealthy habits, and limited thinking.

As we experience negative events in our life, we undertake coping mechanisms to help us cope physically, mentally, and spiritually. These coping mechanisms can develop bad habits and thinking patterns that ultimately impact the flow of energy through our chakras.

Balancing our chakras is an important part of our healing and recovering process, along with developing an understanding of the source of our experiences and the maladaptive coping mechanisms that we develop in order to protect ourselves.


The first chakra, also known as the root chakra, sits at the bottom of the spine. This chakra is associated with the color red and the element of earth. The root chakra is associated with our survival and our instinct to protect life.

In the physical realm, the root chakra connects with the large intestine, rectum, reproductive system, spine, and kidneys. Maintaining a balance of the root chakra will help keep these parts of the body functioning.

The first chakra is called the root chakra as it forms the foundation on which other chakras are built. This correlates to the structure of the earth as our foundation of all living beings.

As the first chakra is a foundational level, it’s primary goal is connected to our survival. From this primary goal of survival, all our needs can be met including food, shelter, and love. Staying connected through our root chakra can help us maintain these individual aspects of survival at a level that sustains and encourages us to grow.

Additionally, as we protect ourselves and our survival, we also protect our root chakra. When our survival needs are disrupted we potentially disrupt our root chakra which can impact the energy flow to all other chakras.

We must ensure our survival needs are met so the root chakra can help provide a foundation for all other life activities. When the root chakra is in a constant state of stress, this can prevent a person from reaching their full potential in life and consciousness because they are constantly worried about how to meet their own survival needs.


A number of activities can help restore our chakras. Engaging in positive life activities is beneficial to encourage positive energy flow throughout our body. This is relevant for the physical, mental, and spiritual aspects of our lives.

Some positive activities that we can engage in to promote positive energy flow are listed below:

  • Reiki
  • Yoga
  • Meditation
  • Visualization
  • Color therapy
  • Conscious breathing
  • Gentle physical exercises such as stretching
  • Positive thinking
  • Affirmations
  • Aromatherapy
  • Art therapy/art journaling
  • Formal therapy for mental wellbeing

As the root chakra is connected with the color red, you can wear clothing in the color red to help balance. As the element of earth is connected to the root chakra, you can engage in earth positive activities such as walking barefoot, gardening, or connecting with nature.

Balancing the first chakra gives you the confidence to a positive flow of energy to the following chakras.

In addition to the above activities to rebalance the root chakra, conducting Reiki over the root chakra area can also clear any blockage and help restore a positive energy flow.

Reiki techniques involve holding your hands for at least 5 minutes over the base of the spine. Hand positions can also extend to moving around the lower stomach area in general.


SIGN UP below to receive your FREE DOWNLOAD. Once you enter your email address, you will receive access to the Free Resource Library.
Reiki 7 Chakras Summary Guide


Pin this image to your Pinterest board.

Chakra 1 The Root Chakra


If you’ve enjoyed this post, please share it on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest. Thank you!

Don`t copy text!
Share This