Chakra 6 The Third Eye Chakra



1. What are Chakras
2. What is the Third Eye Chakra
3. Balancing the Third Eye Chakra
5. Free Download 7 Chakras Summary



The energy of life flows through our chakras. A chakra is simply defined as an energy center in our body

Chakras act as a balancing system to maintain the physical, mental, and spiritual functions of a person. Chakras are an integral aspect of the intersection between mind and body functions.

Chakras are divided into 7 main areas that are located along the central aspect of the body. These run from the base of the spine up to the top of the head.

The chakras are listed below:

  • Chakra 1 The Root Chakra – refers to survival and overall life
  • Chakra 2 The Sacral Chakra – refers to emotion and sexuality
  • Chakra 3 The Solar Plexus Chakra – refers to self-esteem, self-worth, and personal will
  • Chakra 4 The Heart Chakra – refers to love
  • Chakra 5 The Throat Chakra – refers to communication
  • Chakra 6 The Third Eye Chakra – refers to creativity, intuition, and imagination
  • Chakra 7 The Crown Chakra – refers to knowledge, understanding, and consciousness

Chakras are constantly vibrating as they absorb and transmit energy throughout our bodies. When a chakra is blocked, it creates a disruption to energy flow and will impact us in our daily lives, specifically in the area of the blocked chakra. Consequently, as one chakra is blocked, it will affect the flow of energy through the other chakras.

Many experiences and events can block chakras. These experiences include childhood trauma, physical injury, emotional distress, high stress, chronic illness, unhealthy habits, and limited thinking.

As we experience negative events in our life, we undertake coping mechanisms to help us cope physically, mentally, and spiritually. These coping mechanisms can develop bad habits and thinking patterns that ultimately impact the flow of energy through our chakras.

Balancing our chakras is an important part of our healing and recovering process, along with developing an understanding of the source of our experiences and the maladaptive coping mechanisms that we develop in order to protect ourselves.


The third eye chakra is located slightly above eye level in the center of the head and is physically associated with the eyes.

The third eye chakra is associated with the color indigo and the element of light. The third eye chakra is connected with intuition, seeing, and foresight.

Verbal communication provides us with an incredible amount of access to understanding the dynamics of how our relationships function. We can communicate our personal needs to family and friends. We are also able to empathize and support loved ones through our communication.

When the third eye chakra is balanced, we are more connected with our intuition and ability to apply insight to situations. We are also more able to connect to our previous experiences to help us learn to navigate through future experiences with wisdom and integrity.

When the third eye chakra is out of balance, we may become unsure of our viewpoint. We may also experience doubt about our ability to analyze our experiences and make the connections that normally help us make decisions. An imbalanced third eye chakra can make us confused about choices we may have to make if we feel our intuition and understanding of a situation is hindered.

When out of balance, the third eye chakra can affect our physical experiences with headaches, migraines, eyestrain, and blurred vision.

For the third eye chakra to be balanced, our understanding and insight into our experiences will help us to connect with our consciousness.


A number of activities can help restore our chakras. Engaging in positive life activities is beneficial to encourage positive energy flow throughout our body. This is relevant for the physical, mental, and spiritual aspects of our lives.

Some positive activities that we can engage in to promote positive energy flow are listed below:

  • Reiki
  • Yoga
  • Meditation
  • Visualization
  • Color therapy
  • Conscious breathing
  • Gentle physical exercises such as stretching
  • Positive thinking
  • Affirmations
  • Aromatherapy
  • Art therapy/art journaling
  • Formal therapy for mental wellbeing

As the element of light is connected to the third eye chakra, you can engage in activities that involve natural light. This might mean participating in outdoor activities that involve sunlight.

Holding and carrying objects in the color indigo will also help balance the third eye chakra.

If you are feeling mentally blocked in a situation, use visualization techniques to explore the possibilities that are available to you. You can also engage in reading books, watching movies or documentaries, or listening to podcasts to help explore topics that will expand your knowledge about the world. Expanding your knowledge and understanding can help strengthen your third eye chakra so that you can make more informed decisions in the future.

Balancing the sixth chakra gives you the knowledge, insight, and wisdom to use the resources you have gathered from developing your other chakras.

In addition to the above activities to rebalance the third eye chakra, conducting Reiki over the third eye chakra area can also clear any blockage and help restore a positive energy flow.

Reiki techniques involve holding your hands for at least 5 minutes over your eyes.


SIGN UP below to receive your FREE DOWNLOAD. Once you enter your email address, you will receive access to the Free Resource Library.
Reiki 7 Chakras Summary Guide


Pin this image to your Pinterest board.

Chakra 6 The Third Eye Chakra


If you’ve enjoyed this post, please share it on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest. Thank you!

Don`t copy text!
Share This